Black and White

Hot Air Balloons

Once upon a time I was a journalism major at a small junior college in Southern Colorado. I was trained to use a twin lens Roliflex to take photos of events I covered and for the college yearbook. I was also taught to use the darkroom. All our photography was done in black and white, and it was a real creative thrill to catch a good photo in black and white. With rich texuture, good shades of gray. Even now, I like to play with the digital photos I take and try them out in black and white.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “black and white” or on some topic suggested by the photo. Post inspired by the great photos in Smashing Magazine.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Essay, fiction, Photo Writing Prompt, Writing prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Black and White

  1. kelly says:

    Its funny to me that there are two types of people in the world, those who see things in black and white and those who see all the shades of grey. Growing up in a household with one of each kind of person for a parent often made things confusing. I think once I got past the confusion, what my black/white and my gray parents really did for me was allow me to decide if I could see the world in its rich black and whites, or its beautiful shades of gray. Or maybe to see the world in both.

  2. John says:

    Tonic Tony and Big Bertha were on a roll, one more and they had the Jackpot.

    What McCartney duet was recorded live but separately in 1982?

    Tonic Tony, without thinking shouted out Black and White and started a victory dance.

    Smack…What? That hurt.

    You plonker, it was Ebony and Ivory.

  3. first50 says:

    Hi Kelly, welcome to first 50 words. Thanks for writing with us.

    Hey, John, you had me rolling on the floor laughing today!

  4. wailin says:

    Her skin contrasted his sharply while they held each other. Naked pale flesh on naked brown, both basted in sweat, chests heaving, and he couldn’t be happier. The sex was great, but the conversations over coffee before and after were even more stimulating.

    “Have I told you I like you a lot today” lips caressing her neck, glistening in the backlighting of a computer monitor. He adored her profile, featured as she turned to look at him from the corners of her eyes.

    “Only a couple times, but I like hearing it” she giggled back, stretching her back to arch it against him roughly. His arm squeezed her ribcage pulling her ear next to his mouth.

    “I like you a lot” he whispered, nipping at her ear in the same movement.

    “I like you a lot, too” she replied, her smile obvious in her voice, her hand reaching back and down to pull him into her more.

  5. Marina says:

    You always hear how things aren’t really black and white, they’re shades of grey. Maybe it’s true, if you live your life in old pictures and columns of text. But if you look up, you see that the real world isn’t just black and white and grey- it’s in color.

Leave a Reply

