Foxy

I finished Foxy: My Life in Three Acts by Pam Grier with Andrea Cagan a few minutes ago. It’s a story of pain and courage by a woman with great strength of character and enormous talent and intelligence.

I want to comment on one of her statements, which came toward the end of the book when she was talking about working on The L Word. It was a thought I’ve often had myself. She said,

I thought our regular cast were some of the more talented actresses I’d ever worked with. And still, the show got absolutely no nominations during its run.

Ms. Grier is so right. There should have been awards, Emmy Awards especially. For acting, for writing, for directing, for costuming. I’ve always felt the creators and actors inĀ The L Word were cheated of awards and ignored when they should have been honored.

I’m excited to know that I’m not the only one who thinks that.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “foxy.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in books, movies, Opinion, TV, Writing prompt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Foxy

  1. Carol Burridge says:

    I too couldn’t believe that The LWord never got the awards it so deserved.Fantastic acting from all of the regular members of the cast.Loved Jennifer Beals as Bette Porter and Laurel Holloman as Tina Kennard.To me those two actresses and their characters were the mainstay of the whole series.I have only just found The LWord this year and its one of the best or should i say THE best series i have seen in a very very long time.Why they and the series were ignored for awards i can only think it would be because of the subject of the series.I am a straight Grandmother with 5 grandchildren and i and my 2 daughters absolutrely loved it.I can now watch it at leisure having bought the complete box set.The only angst for me was the ending.I think Ilene Chalkein owes the fans a one off prelude or a LWord movie.

  2. Rachel says:

    Never seen this show… oh for high-end cable…

Leave a Reply

