South

Saying goodbye to summer
I watch the sun move
Across my eastern window
From north to south,
From heat and light to
The cool gray rustling leaves
Of winter. I relish
The chill – for a while.
But then, the longing
For the sun to move
North once again sets in,
And summer seems
So far away.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “south.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Poems, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to South

  1. moonsdesigns says:

    While standing in knee high water fishing for that elusive King Salmon, I noticed several Canadian Geese flying in group formation. It looked to me like they had a plan. The plan was to head back to their native land before winter sets in. Funny how mother nature just happens, and yet, all the wild animals, trees and forest follow suit. King Salmon follow the rivers back to their native waters and spawn, hoping to pro create before they die. The leaves on the trees turn from green to shades of red, yellow, and gold. So, I’m going to do just what all else is doing. I’m heading South.

  2. When I hear the word South
    I smile
    Memories my southern grandmother
    coming up North every summer
    to take me South on the train
    for the summer.
    South
    I love you
    Such special memories

Leave a Reply

