Ice Cream

Ever had home made ice cream? The kind you worked over for what seemed like ages, using a crank and muscle power? It’s more than a one-person job because the arm gives out after a while and someone else has to take a turn. But, while you rest you can steal a chunk of the salty ice filling the freezer and cool down. There’s nothing like the taste – commercial ice cream just doesn’t replicate it. Could it be because you had to work so hard to get it?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “ice cream.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Childhood memory, Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, memories, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ice Cream

  1. A. David Greentwig says:

    I once bought a bread making machine. Pumpernickel, rye, Italian, you name it, I made it. Bread for everyone, delicious bread! For a weekend, I was entranced. I should open a bakery, I thought. What a great invention. Why hadn’t I bought one of these earlier? I love good bread.
    Monday morning, I got on the scale. Up seven pounds!
    I wonder whatever happened to that bread maker?

  2. kaydennison says:

    A staple at the reunion of my paternal grandma’s family was homemade fresh strawberry ice cream and everyone old enough had to take a turn at the crank on the machine. I think I was 12 when I was first tapped for this duty. For most of us, I think, it was a coming of age thing and none of us ever complained. Besides, we all loved the end product.

  3. Home Made ice cream
    Wonderful memories
    Whenever I would spend summers with my grandmother
    this was something that every Sunday night was made.
    Aunts, uncles, cousins all would arrive.
    Kids running in the yard
    women in the kitchen
    putting something together.
    Ice cream started
    mixture mixed on stove
    ice and salt in the mixer
    and many took times cranking
    Nothing like it….

  4. MOV says:

    I guess I like chemicals.

    Baskin-Robbins mint chip has always been my favorite. Back in high school, I worked at the local BR, and discovered all the (unnatural) ingredients lurking there. It turned me off the stuff for a while.

    I stopped reading the labels when I eat it now.

    best,
    MOV

Leave a Reply

