I’m afraid

“I’m afraid you can’t enter here.” The man was huge. He could have reduced me to a pile of whimpering mush on the sidewalk.

I stood taller. “I was told that this was the guest entrance.”

“It is,” he said. He waved an arm toward the side of the building. “The servers enter in back.”

I pulled an invitation from my pocket and showed it to him. “I’m a guest.”

He eyed me with . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “I’m afraid.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I’m afraid

  1. danezeller says:

    “I’m afraid your manuscript does not meet our needs.”
    “What are your needs?”
    “We need a story that doesn’t start out with the weather.”
    “Mine starts out with the weather?”
    “Yes, it begins: ‘Clouds rolled over Sarah’s mind when she started her first novel’.”
    “It’s a metaphor.”
    “It’s the weather.”
    “Oh,” I said, vowing to get a better word counter and a book on self-publishing.

  2. Kay Butzin says:

    He eyed me with a face modeled by doubt. “Where’d ya steal this from?”

    “I received it in my mailbox, sir. The Princess and I were roommates in college.”

    The security guard made a derisive sound. “I’m afraid …”

    “Wait!” I raised my palm like a school crossing guard. Taking a pen from my purse, I scribbled a note on the invitation, shoved it at him and demanded. “Go ask him!”

  3. Kay Butzin says:

    oops. Go ask Her!

  4. A. David Greentwig says:

    He eyed me with large skeptical eyes, dark and filled with the promise of a storm.

    Still standing tall, I returned his stare with my best ‘trust me’ look. I could feel my blink-starved eyes beginning to burn.

    Finally, he broke into a large grin, punctuated by a gold front tooth.

    “Welcome to the party,” he said, stepping aside and unhooking the velvet rope so I could enter.

    “Thank you,” I replied as I strode past him.

    Once inside, I dialed Casey on the cell.

    “It worked,” I said, “I’m in!”

  5. Sherman D. says:

    a disapproving look that told me I had dressed extremely inappropriately. However, since going back to change clothes was not an option, I pressed on. “A friend of mine gave me this,” I said, pulling out my wallet and handing him a card.”
    “Oh. I see.” His eyes got big…

  6. kaydennison says:

    Lately, circumstances are such that I am very afraid about a LOT of things. I wish it weren’t so but sometimes it just is what it is. Hopefully, I’ll weather this as I have most things but I’m getting too old for this crap.

Leave a Reply

