An enormous dog

I approached the farm house juggling an armful of files and my purse. An enormous dog came running. I stopped in my tracks. This dog was as big as a horse, I swear. He was solid black with a huge square head and long skinny legs that looked like they came up to my armpits. He wasn’t barking or growling, but he was moving fast. I may have been praying that my legs would start to function again so I could run from the monster, maybe I even screamed for help. It’s a little blurry to recall. Then . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “an enormous dog.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to An enormous dog

  1. A. David Greentwig says:

    Then I awoke from my dream with a start. I sat straight up, my face drenched in a cold sweat. I reached for the hand towel I kept on the night stand for just these occasions.

    I dried my face, smiling.

    Tomorrow, I knew I would ride my horse ‘An Enormous Dog’ to victory in the featured race at Derby Downs.

  2. maybemelly says:

    I realized that the dog was as surprised and confused as I. We stood in staring at each other in silence. He….was a she….softly I began to talk to the dog as she cocked her head from side to side in contemplation. I slowly approached and reached out my hand for her to sniff, she submitted. I realized she was cold, alone, and frightened as I was…we bonded…an unlikely outcome to an akward situation…

  3. Kay Butzin says:

    I saw a St. Bernard once. Now, that’s an enormous dog, especially when you see it trotting past the living room window of your duplex on a summer day in the middle of Kansas. But even without a keg of brandy around its neck, there’s no mistaking it for anything else, except maybe a pony.

Leave a Reply

