Thursday

Roadrunner

I took off as fast as my legs would go on Thursday morning, headed for the arroyo where I take my morning walk. A roadrunner catching a drink in my neighbor’s sun dial brought me to a screeching halt. I tried to be stealthy and quiet as I got the camera out of my windbreaker. The nylon of the windbreaker was noisy and Mr. Roadrunner looked at me, but didn’t run. When he drank, his beak made a clicking sound against the sun dial.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “Thursday” or on some topic suggested by the image.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in animals, Children's Writing Prompts, Photo Writing Prompt, Writing prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thursday

  1. Ron Herb says:

    “Urban sprawl”, that’s what they call it. When I was a child we had to be rolling along the Interstate in order to see a real roadrunner. Sitting at the red light across from yet another Starbucks I thought “am I the only one who has not grown or changed in the last 30 years”?

Leave a Reply

