Earrings

The first thing I noticed about her were the earrings. Huge and heavy. Gold bands. Shaped like teardrops but in multiple sizes that rotated and shimmered when she moved. Then I took in the hair: a masterful weave that I wouldn’t have recognized as a weave except it was both red and black. Her dress fit her like it was poured on gold paint. Shoes high enough to induce altitude sickness topped off the look. I was hypnotized by the sight of her even before she opened those perfect lips to sing. When she sang, I went away to a sonic universe where nothing on this earthly plane mattered at all.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “earrings.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, music, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Earrings

  1. Sherry Ramlal says:

    As I held the two earrings, they melted into my palms of sweat through anticipation of the women my heart belonged to. The diamonds erupted and transcended my mind into the future meeting of her. I played with them within my fingers as they hunted for a deeper purpose, a purpose that would lead me to the woman my fingers longed to embrace.

    • Sherry Ramlal says:

      As I held the two earrings, they melted into my palms of sweat through anticipation of the woman my heart belonged to. The diamonds erupted and transcended my mind into the future meeting of her. I played with them within my fingers as they hunted for a deeper purpose, a purpose that would lead me to the woman my fingers longed to embrace.

Leave a Reply

