Dance Me to the End of Love

Perla Batalla Concert

It’s such a cliche – meeting someone at the grocery store. But it happened to me. I was looking for an avocado. A kind of lame version of “Dance Me to the End of Love” was playing on the store’s music system and I could not prevent myself from humming along. A man picking through the Roma tomatoes next to me said, “I love that song, too.”

I turned to look at him. He asked,  “Did you happen to see Perla Batalla last summer at the zoo concerts? She sings that so beautifully.”

“I was there,” I said. He grinned, and introduced himself by . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “dance me to the end of love” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in fiction, music, Photo Writing Prompt, Writing prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dance Me to the End of Love

  1. ccf93 says:

    We are on a Leonard Cohen streak, here. I am loving this!

  2. ccf93 says:

    Well, I would say it is a matter of when you were born… ;)

Leave a Reply

