Sing It

my ukulele

For the last year or so, I’ve been learning to play the ukulele. I’m not great but I’ve learned even some of the harder chords and can keep up with most songs pretty well. I’m not a very good singer, though, especially when I’m practicing by myself and don’t have other voices to keep me on track. Oddly, I’ve discovered that if I hum it rather than sing it, I can carry the tune a lot better. So the words to every song I sing are “oooooo.”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “sing it” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Photo Writing Prompt, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sing It

  1. Joel says:

    Flames danced along with the rhythmic bodies that surrounded the fire. Drums, voices, and odd noise makers joined in the chorus of motion, the crackling wood a backdrop for the celebration. In awe the tribal display held me captive. The chief backhands my shoulder, hands me his ukulele and shouts, “SING IT!”

Leave a Reply

