Salt and Sand

My skin was coated with salty residue,
My swimsuit and shoes filled of sand.
The sunburn would linger for days,
Peeling and painful.
Exhausted, ravenous, and thirsty
I fell into a chair under a beach umbrella
And ordered food and pitchers of beer.
It was the best day of my life.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “salt and sand.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Poems, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Salt and Sand

  1. Mariah says:

    When Cheryl was four years old, she wandered away from her parents on the beach in Atlantic City. She was lost among a sea of umbrellas and reclining chairs. Her tears mixed with the sand on her hands to create a salty soup of fear and desperation. It was the worst day of her life.

  2. When I walk in the sand, I look like everyone else. We are all tasting the salt in the air and stumbling in the deep soft sand. No one notices my uneven gait and frequent stumbles. When we are with the salt and sand, we are all the same.

  3. vino prasad says:

    A humble man named Gandhi, raised a fistful of muddy sand from the Dandi shores and proclaimed ” with this, I am shaking the foundations of the British Empire.” It was a non violent protest against the salt tax imposed on the colony.

  4. becca says:

    ~The smell of the salty ocean waves bring a smile across my face.~
    I long to live near the sea;
    I believe it will help me find different pieces and parts of me.
    When I plunge my head under the water,
    I feel as though I am the oceans’ daughter.
    I am free and laughing with fish,
    I am complete…and wish to never to leave.
    “save me”, I cry to the waves. “I want to stay”

  5. becca says:

    In present day, my aunt is gone. She left without any warning or protest, it seems. But there are memories that linger of her and the summer sun with sand beneath our feet. Her kids and I headed out into the water, surfing the waves with grins upon our faces. How the world seemed so right at the time, with sand up our swim suits and sand betwen our toes. It was simple, and I did not realize at the time how much I would want it back. But now I do.

Leave a Reply

