Mamma

What did you call your mother when you were very young? Mom, Mommie, Mamma? Do you ever revert to that baby name in times of crisis or stress? Does your long used Mom suddenly become Mommie when you’re scared? What did you call her during adolescence when you put irony in your voice – perhaps Mommie Dearest or some other demeaning title? Did you ever call her by her first name, like someone completely unrelated to you?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “mamma.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Childhood memory, Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mamma

  1. Mary says:

    When I was young, and to this day, I call her Mom. I have never really been a fan of any other names. “Mom” is comfortable to me and I even use it sometimes when talking to a good friend’s mother as she is like my second Mom. I cannot recall a time off hand where I used my Mom’s first name. This was not popular in my parent’s day though I know it is more common now. I saw it as a sign of disrespect but that is just my opinion.

  2. ernestine says:

    I saw the word
    and I have always spelled it “mama”
    It is what my 4 children call me
    and I called my mother.
    To me
    there is no other word but
    “Mama”

Leave a Reply

