19

Well, I guess I was 19 when my hair started going gray. First it was just a few hairs. Then a few streaks. Sometimes little kids would ask me if I’d been painting when they looked at my hair. Now it’s almost 100% gray with just a few stray brown hairs still hiding in there. There was no traumatic event turning me gray – no near drowning, no car wreck. Still, 19 is a little early. I have a theory about it. . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “19.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 19

  1. LuSay says:

    By the time I was 19 sex had become so casual it was almost boring.

  2. Debby Proulx says:

    19

    Sweeping the dust from my bones, my own children grown, I revisit an aged 19. An onslaught of feelings and memories sweep into me, as I recall a time where insane insecurities, threatened to overwhelm but the bravery of youth holds fast to succeed. Today, in the midst of life, yet closer to death, I still search for the perfect formula to living. I ache to become that breathless rush of youth charging into yet another rootless adventure. I feel the urge to flip the bird to being responsible before the earth swallows me whole.

  3. anthony mazzella says:

    I remember when the whole world was 19 something or another. It only took one thousand years to be 20. I am indeed envious of the aging process.

Leave a Reply

