The Full Moon

The full moon glowed silver behind gauzy clouds. The sky was mostly clear except for a few clouds in the east. There was still plenty of light for me to see my way through the rocky arroyo behind El’s house. When I reached level ground I walked quietly to her kitchen window. I peered into the bright light inside. She . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the full moon.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Full Moon

  1. anthony mazzella says:

    The full moons were dwindling along with the wintry sunsets. The bears were
    waking up and the the snow geese were returning. Again, life would teem with the large and the small, the visible and invisible, and the frozen to the unfrozen. The eternal command of Genesis was again heeded.

  2. WendyFisher says:

    The Texas panhandle’s night sky and flat prairie were a dark unknown. Gemma thought leaving Enid, OK for Reno was almost as adventurous as space travel. A car of teenaged full moons shot past her bus window.

    Years later, when Gemma spoke of leaving home, she mentioned shooting stars instead.

  3. The full moon glowed silver behind gauzy clouds. The sky was mostly clear except for a few clouds in the east. There was still plenty of light for me to see my way through the rocky arroyo behind El’s house. When I reached level ground I walked quietly to her kitchen window. I peered into the bright light inside. She saw me–living in Arizona I soon felt a Glock poked in my back and a quiet voice saying, “Get your butt on the ground–Now! I have already called the police.”

    Then she realized who I was. Too late! We could hear sirens coming from the freeway off ramp nearby.

  4. Edwin Jeter says:

    As the young man viewed the full moon and breathed the fresh night air he felt a new thirst for life. The reflection of the full moon bouncing off the surface of the ocean caused him to reflect on the most positive experiences of life and the gift of being alive.

Leave a Reply

