4:14 AM

She opened her eyes and looked at the big glowing numbers on the clock: 4:14. She extracted herself from the arm encircling her and started pulling on her clothing. Stirring behind her made her turn and say, “I’m leaving now.”

“We can’t keep doing this.”

“I know,” she said. “We have to think about what to do. It’s my fault – I’m too cowardly to take care of my own situation.” She . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “4:14 AM.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 4:14 AM

  1. anthony mazzella says:

    The 4:14am train was always late. No matter the weather. No matter the day. No matter the season. Until one day the newspaper was picked up. Oh. What a dope! I forgot! The train station is just ‘ther side of the river. You see, the river sets aside one time zone from the ‘ther. Until again…

  2. 4:14 AM

    I’m awake again.
    What time is it?
    Oh.
    Should I lay here or get up?
    I keep strange hours.
    Is God speaking?
    (silence)

    I’m listening for a song, a noise, an instruction.

    It’s 4:14 AM.
    It’s really early.

    What should I do?
    Write, drink coffee, pray?
    I close my eyes.

Leave a Reply

