I Wouldn’t Have Pulled the Trigger If . . .

I wouldn’t have pulled the trigger if you had ever, just once, told me it was okay to be me.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “I wouldn’t have pulled the trigger if . . .”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Wouldn’t Have Pulled the Trigger If . . .

  1. It was 3:00 o’clock in the wee hours of the morning and he wasn’t home yet. She figured he would come in drunk and reeking of cheap perfume and beer. He would undoubtly beat on her again as he had done for last couple of years. She would leave, but she had two kids; a boy and a girl.

    She heard a noise outside. She peeked through the shutters–there he was–staggering up the sidewalk to the front porch.

    She slipped in bed and pretended to be asleep. He wrenched on her arm and dragged her out of bed.

    “Your honor I wouldn’t have pulled the trigger if I could have gotten away. He held myleft arm tight. His right hand made a fist–he is a big man. I had a small pistol under my pillow–I thrust it in his face–he sneered. I fired.”

    “Self defense!” the judge said. He was sick and tired of these abusive husband cases. “I would rather be in Traffic Court.” He pounded the gavel and left the courtroom–it was lunchtime.

  2. lolovonk says:

    I hadn’t given the carnival vendor my money, but I did and now I wouldn’t be able to get the fried dough or a yard-long beer. Dammit. I hope I win the giant stuffed gorilla. I am a poor shot, though. Maybe if I spray the vendor I’ll get points for creativity.

  3. Theresa says:

    I wouldn’t have pulled the trigger if he hadn’t of angered me so much. He should of known I would not like him with another woman. I have been a good & faithful wife. I don’t ask for much since I stay at home & take care of our four small children. Why did he do this to us?

  4. jeanette says:

    I wouldn’t have pulled the trigger if I had not been dared to do it. Everyone kept shouting pull the trigger, pull the trigger now. At the time it sound and felt right. I know now that it was wrong and dare not listen again ,but should quickly run away.

  5. Edwin Jeter says:

    I wouldn’t have pulled the trigger if my life had not been in danger. As I stood on the front porch, he drove his truck into the yard, exited it, brandished a small hand gun and pointed it in my direction. I had to pull the trigger on my gun.

Leave a Reply

