This moment

The sun lights the damp trees like a green lamp. The air smells of wet wood. A wolf is howling below me – strange, deep animal cries tumbling between the mountains. We are in a deep canyon drained by the powerful Hondo River. It carries earth’s essence – the dissolved currency of life.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “this moment.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This moment

  1. anthony mazzella says:

    The woods woke up with a dull thud. The squirrels with their clicking. The birds with their songs. The deer with their light feet. The fish in their streams. This is the moment the earth commands attention and says “I am here”.

  2. The sun lights the damp trees like a green lamp. The air smells of wet wood. A wolf is howling below me – strange, deep animal cries tumbling between the mountains. We are in a deep canyon drained by the powerful Hondo River. It carries earth’s essence – the dissolved currency of life. My wounds are deep – my red life curency is spreading over the rock I fell against. I will soon be bankrupt.

  3. Granny Sue says:

    This moment between night and sun
    when fog covers the trees and the bird’s songs
    sound as if the birds are shivering in their feathers;
    This moment between winter and spring
    when the maple buds and freezes and buds again
    never losing hope that warmth will one day return;
    this moment when I see the tiny leaves of green
    breaking through the dirt in the lettuce bed;
    This is when I hope again, to see the cycle once again
    as I count my numbered years and pray I will be lucky enough
    to see it once, twice, ten times again

Leave a Reply

