His Name is Leon

She pointed him out, her bent arthritic index finger stretched out impolitely before her. “His name is Leon,” she wheezed. “He needs to go for coffee.”

I floated toward Leon. “Leon,” I whispered, “it’s time for a cup of coffee.”

Leon turned off his desk lamp and stretched his back. He glanced around the quiet law library. . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “his name is Leon.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His Name is Leon

  1. anthony mazzella says:

    Left on! I thought the expression was “Right On”. You are all backwards. Oh!

  2. Debby Proulx says:

    All my usual warmth and welcoming ways evaporated into the dark reality that a wife and child abuser is in my home. He is in my sacred space. His name is Leon and he had violated his family’s trust with violence. Luckily for him time really does heal all; his children forgive him his abuse. It is only his formerly beaten wife who never forgave him and she never will, since she is in the ground beaten by cancer. With the clock ticking all the sudden everyone wants to play big happy family. I struggle with my emotions to welcome this man, while all I truly want to do is champion the memory of the beaten wife. I wish to hold court in my kitchen and bang a gavel on my dining table declaring him guilty of spousal and child abuse. Instead I beg my mother in laws forgiveness and for the greater good I play the role of hostess. I let it go.

Leave a Reply

