Reading History

Books were my favorite toys. I maintain I went straight from the children’s corner in the library where I read Grimm’s Fairy Tales and the Boxcar Children to the adult section where my first picks were a Mickey Spillane mystery and Gunter Grass’s “The Tin Drum.” I wasn’t quite ready for the adult reading, but I mostly didn’t understand what they were talking about, so it didn’t corrupt me much.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “reading history.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in books, Childhood memory, Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reading History

  1. Mariah says:

    I wandered for hours each day into the world of Grimm, avoiding my mother’s war path. It was more peaceful to simply wait for my hair to grow long as Rapunzel’s.

  2. Debby Proulx says:

    Ever since I first learned to read you could find me with my nose in a book fighting dragons, jumping on wild horses or wrestling with the deeper questions of life. The world around me became nonexistent while I read, and I could almost physically leap into the characters lives on the written page. My reading history introduced me to the magic of my imagination.

  3. Yancy Bledsoe says:

    It was worst subject. I recall being mentally abused because I couldn’t recall a paragraph or tell you what it was about. Today, times have changed! In order for “Me, myself, and I” to understand reading, I should be able to create a picture or be the character.

  4. anthony mazzella says:

    The thing is that we comment on things like the guy before us. A lot of times it is a repetitious recycling rehash only in fancier words, symbols or actions. The reading of history or shall I say the observation of the past is not just “Joe went to the store and was hit by the door”. It may follow as “Joe was on his way to the holistic fresh fruit store and as he observed the melons that were to cure his lumbago, was struck unmercifully by a brutally heavy iron door”. Specifically, “Adolf Hitler didn’t learn his lesson from Napoleon”. Napoleon wrote it, Hitler ignored it. Simple. Clean. To the point.

Leave a Reply

