Silence

Silence descends.
Orange fades from the horizon,
The chipmunk stills his feet,
Orion sails above a yellow drop of light –
Saturn? Venus?
Doors are closed,
Cars are parked,
Families safe behind their own walls.
My feet rest on the deck rail.
My eyes search the sky
For the Pleiades.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “silence.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Poems, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silence

  1. anthony mazzella says:

    Silence is golden. Wow! Not much of that around. That’s what happens when all the Silence gold mines shut down.

  2. Christiane Turner says:

    When I disobeyed my mother, one eyebrow would arch and she’d deliver unremitting silence. Finally apologizing, I’d delight in her warm smile.

    This morning, I insisted my grandson finish breakfast before another serving of hot chocolate. Angrily, he threw his eggs on the floor. I raised one eyebrow and waited.

  3. Edwin Jeter says:

    Silence represents a period of peacefulness and quietness. A fraction of time which is used for reflection. One can reflect on the good; knowledge gained and continue to move in a viable direction. Silence is also an indicator of error review and thinking of making necessary corrections. Silence is great.

  4. Nick A. Sigan says:

    I’ve been unable to find silence, although I have found quiet. The silence has a volume I just can’t seem to turn down all the way. I’ve been close, but silence carries some noise I can’t completely quiet. But I can get it down, and in those times, I can really hear.

Leave a Reply

