Trash Day

Who needs an alarm clock on trash day? When your bedroom is facing the street and the trucks lumber by in the wee hours of the morning, an alarm ringing is unnecessary. I wonder what time those poor truck drivers have to get up to go to work?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “trash day.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, memories, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Trash Day

  1. Mariah says:

    I had it all organized for Trash Day – a bag full of the shirts I haven’t worn for 5 years, the too small pants, white boots with a missing heel. Then, I put them all back in the closet. I might need them someday.

  2. cinanim says:

    Trash day, is my favorite day of the week. Having lived in the country for most of my life we, hauled our own trash.
    Now, in town, the trash men show up punctually at 8:00 a.m. They not only take my trash, but they take any debris piles from our weekly endeavors. And do you know? They sweep the streets on the same day?
    It’s absolutely marvelous!

  3. Nadia says:

    The smell says it’s Trash Day. I did not consider that when renting this apartment. I only cared that I could see my car from here. Respect to those workers who start their day with that scent. I cover my ears from the sound, but not my nose. Ewww.

  4. Edwin Jeter says:

    Trash Day is interestingly busy. It is collected on Thursday in my neighborhood. The previous day, Wednesday, is when everyone leaves their trash at the curb for pick-up. Thursday is the noisiest day of the week, during early morning, in my neighborhood. Wednesday is a great day to ameliorate relationships; everyone is placing trash at the curb.

Leave a Reply

