Rainy Days

I should have gone yesterday. I was supposed to go yesterday. I’m so sorry I didn’t go yesterday. Now I’m dealing with one of those rainy days where it rains hard for a few minutes, then clears up, then rains hard again. What a mess.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “rainy days.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rainy Days

  1. Mariah says:

    Back under the covers on those rainy days. Errands can wait now that I’m retired, except for the nail salon and the cardiologist.

  2. Claire says:

    Rainy days remind me of my dog, Conan, because on days like these, he would tend to sleep more than usual. He was always a heavy sleeper, and no matter how much snooze time he put in during the day, it would not thwart him from sleeping through the night.

  3. I, for one, am glad for the relief. The summer has been dry and dusty. A rainy day is a welcome respite from the baking sun. Commuters glance up in annoyance, as if they’re going to melt. Seriously, it’s just water! I breath deep as the downpour hits the asphalt.

  4. “I want to know. Have you ever seen the rain coming down on a sunny day?”

    It poured, the wind howled. It hurt her to sit alone in the dark and watch it pour. She thought of happiness and the days before. She cried and screamed. Only to realize it wasn’t raining at all. It was all her.

  5. Edwin Jeter says:

    Because they are sensationally thought provoking, rainy days are excellent for writing. I consolidate my thoughts and place them on paper with vigor and much enthusiasm when rain fall actively infiltrates my world. The thoughts are pleasant, productive, and profound. They are developed on rainy days.

  6. Gene Schmidt says:

    “It’s raining outside my Thomas Hardy cottage in the dream country of Wessex. I light the lamps, set out tea and cake, and wait for Bathsheba Everdene to arrive. “

    “What the hell does that mean?”

    “I read all day when it’s raining.”

    “And when it’s not raining?”

    “Same thing.”

  7. rupcroft says:

    No sound now but the steady drip of regular drops into the bucket beneath the window. Lucky the whole roof didn’t come down. Lucky he didn’t look into this room. She hesitated, then slowly rose up out of her hiding place to pull back the curtain and peer out onto the now dark street. Alert and ready to run if she saw so much as a shadow.

  8. Brenda Rayford says:

    We sure have had our share of rainy days this summer. There hasn’t been a week gone by that it has not rain. Whose complaining? Not me. Thinking back on last summer, how everything was so dry and brown, I welcome the rain. Though you never know how to plan your week because of the unexpected rain, I won’t complain. When I think I want to I take a look around me and look at the beauty of God’s green earth. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

