A new blog

screen shot from Old Ain't Dead

I haven’t started a new blog in a long time, but I started one yesterday. It’s called Old Ain’t Dead. It’s an elder’s take on modern day pop culture. I started with 5 posts, which took hours and hours to write – whew. No getting away with 5 minutes and 50 words over there. Wish me luck with it.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “a new blog.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Writing prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A new blog

  1. Congratulations with your new blog!
    Your post generated a thought, or rather a question: for a multi-lingual person: can I post all in one, or should I rather have a blog per language?
    Today, before reading your prompt (very nice coincidence, don’t you think?), I thought of starting a blog in German for my German-speaking part of the family and friends.

    • first50 says:

      I subscribe to some Twitter feeds from people who tweet in multiple languages and it isn’t a problem, but I think in the longer format of a blog I would want to be able to read every post. Would you be saying the exact same thing – in both English and German? Maybe you could just connect Google Translate to your blog and let people use that when they couldn’t understand one language or the other.

      • Thank you very much, Virginia, that is a very good point with the wish to understand every posting. The Google Translate might be also good, but it does not translate everything as I would wish it would. So I will probably go with another blog. And no, I wouldn’t say the same thing in English in German, or at least not in exactly same way. And since neither German nor English are my mother tongue and my mother tongue was at some point worse than a language I learnt at the kindergarten, at school etc (and that one was also neither German nor English :) ), so I bring a certain multicolor-spectrum to the language I write. So, I think the best to write the thoughts as the come and to post in that language.

        Many thanks again for your thoughts and this conversation!

Leave a Reply

