Scar

“Where’d you get this scar,” he asked, rubbing his fingers over the little puff of scar tissue on my left shoulder. “It looks like a gun shot wound.”

“Nothing so exciting,” I lied. “When I was a kid my brother poked me in the back with a stick he was using to roast marshmallows. We were out camping. By the time my folks got me home to a doctor, it was infected, so it left a big scar.”

He kissed my scar and murmured, “Ah, my little marshmallow puff.” He believed me.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “scar.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Scar

  1. She hitched up her sleeve over her shoulder. The scar ran dramatically down the side of her arm. So what she got it when mom accidentally touched her with a hot cookie pan. It made her look tough.

    Two fists raised in in defiance. “Okay, boys. Who’s next?”

  2. Claire says:

    The scar above his right eyebrow was barely visible, but upon looking closely she was able to fairly discern it. Noticing the inquisitive look on her face, he quickly interjected with a smile, “I got that while trying to impersonate Superman as a kid.” She smiled back as she reached to touch it.

  3. oooh I love it thanks any other prompts I need a inspiration fix.

  4. Jules says:

    He looked down at his hand in mine. The left sleeve of my sweater was pushed just barely above my wrist. He saw my scar though. “Did you do this?” he asked, his eyes full of worry. I hesitated before I responded. “Yes.” I said, looking him in the eyes.

  5. Edwin Jeter says:

    Because we see it, a scar is truly linked to our feelings. A scar is viewed as a mark due to an event which took place in someone’s life. It might be actively present due to engaging in something pleasant, or an unpleasant occurrence might be the basis. We all have at least one.

Leave a Reply

