The Early Bird Show

Don’t you love the early bird matinee? If you go to a movie at 11 AM or noon, you can save a quarter on the admission price. Sunday at my local multiplex the early bird matinee for “Lee Daniels’ The Butler” was absolutely crammed. Everyone was old like me. It looked like they bused in every senior citizens in Albuquerque for the show. We all recognized everyone in the story, laughed, cried, and applauded at the end in a way that younger people wouldn’t understand. You cannot make me believe that all elders are ultra conservative right wing voters. The emotion in that theater was not right wing.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the early bird show.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Essay, movies, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Early Bird Show

  1. Friends. Family. Tourists. My audience while performing in the round with other singer-songwriters at The Bluebird CafĂ©, Nashville’s most storied listening room. Friends and family didn’t care, tourists didn’t know that nobody famous plays the early bird show. They were waiting outside to meet us. I smiled for their pictures. Still smiling.

  2. Brenda Rayford says:

    I truly love the early bird shows. You not only save a few dollars, but the theatre isn’t as crowded at the Matinee as it is during regular movie times. However, this past Friday I went to see The Butler and the matinee was not packed but it was fuller than usual. One thing I noticed, there were quite a few senior citizens of a different race surprisingly. I say surprisingly because of the nature of the movie dealing with racism from the 1960′s, etc. It was a pretty good mix there which I thought made the environment in the theatre quite pleasant. Everyone seem to have enjoyed the movie and we even had some hand claps at the end. I love good movies, especially when you can catch the early one and save yourself a couple of dollars — extra special.

  3. not a dog says:

    Interesting enough going to the early bird movie should indeed save money. But then the my thought is that since I saved money, I can now treat myself to popcorn and a slice of pizza. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

