Giraffe

New giraffes at Rio Grande Zoo

The newspaper said there were baby giraffes at the zoo and we headed down there the very next weekend. If I had to choose, I guess I’d say giraffes are my favorite animals. They seem so graceful and dignified. The little guys were there, on display and looking charming and entertaining for everyone. It turns out there was also a baby rhino at the zoo, too. Let’s go to the zoo.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “giraffe” or on some topic suggested by the image.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Photo Writing Prompt, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Giraffe

  1. Mariah says:

    My parents promised I was going to catch a giraffe if I sat in the doorway too long. I was disappointed.

  2. Ever since she was a little girl, my niece loved giraffes. This love began the fist time she saw GEOFFREY the TOYS R US giraffe. Whenever holidays or her birthday rolled around, I always bought her a giraffe, and was sure to get a loving, appreciative kiss.

  3. A favorite sci-fi author explained that his imaginary planet’s extreme gravity was why its inhabitants were strong and low to the ground. I considered giraffes, alligators, elephants, and hummingbirds and learned two things: 1 – Be careful with science. 2 – If you write extremely well, some readers might overlook poor science.

  4. Claire says:

    This topic reminds me of an incident that occurred while I was attending a petting zoo at the Meadowlands Convention Center in Secaucus, New Jersey some years ago. I was strolling about and came to the ceiling-less cage where a giraffe was housed. As the giraffe bent its long neck over the cage, a man carrying a small child lifted him towards the giraffe’s head. In the blink of an eye, the giraffe nudged the child so hard that it almost knocked the man with the child to the floor. It was a scary moment for all. Moral of the story: never taunt animals.

  5. not a dog says:

    Giraffes are great looking,animals.They are also very strong. Have you ever seen a giraffe fight? I rather watch them standing or eating.

  6. not a dog says:

    I sometimes wish that I were a giraffe. I could sleep outside and watch the stars. I could enjoy nibbling off of the closest trees. And better yet, I would not have to worry about purchasing the latest Ipod,Iphone, etc….for my children.

Leave a Reply

