Devil Dogs

I picked up a gooey looking chocolate thing called a devil dog at the grocery store. I had company coming for dinner and it looked like desert to me. Since I didn’t know what a devil dog was, I was looking forward to cutting into it. Turns out it’s chocolate cake with whipped cream on it, all of which isĀ  covered with chocolate frosting.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “devil dogs.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Food, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Devil Dogs

  1. Claire says:

    Drake’s Devil Dogs remind me of my childhood in New York City. I remember how savory they were. I haven’t had any since then, but I’m sure the taste is not the same; like everything else. Change is the only constant thing in our lives, but it certainly is good to know that these snack cakes are still around.

    • first50 says:

      After I posted this, I learned what Devil Dogs are. Well, I sort of learned. I was watching an old episode of the TV show Fringe. Walter dug a box out of a hiding place. It looks a little like a box of Ding Dongs. But the box said Devil Dogs! Oh, now I get it!

  2. Edwin Jeter says:

    Devil Dogs cause me to profoundly think of my past. It is a name rightfully associated with a group of men that exhibit ferocity for just causes. The name is linked to the men because they refuse to give ground and display the heart it takes to overcome obstacles and win battles.

  3. themangblog says:

    The only proper way to eat a Devil Dog is to freeze it, take it out of the cellophane wrapper, bite into the top layer of stiff chocolate cake, and begin to peel away the top–be careful not to get the cream too. Then, after you’ve removed the top cake layer, you can indulge in the sweet frozen cream, which is stuck to the final layer of chocolate cake. Eat it slow and let it linger. This, this is the best part. After that, you can eat the final chocolate layer however you prefer. Either way you do it at the end, you will find that the final layer was just OK in comparison to the rest.

Leave a Reply

