Pink

Folded Announcement for Girl in Orange/Pink from William Arthur

Even as a young boy
Pink was misunderstood,
Picked on Pink was how he
Thought of himself.

His big brother, Red,
Defended him in the schoolyard,
Helped him when his heart
Got broken by that siren Orange.

After college, Pink realized he and Orange
Weren’t really good together.
Purple taught him how to live
Life as a happy man.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “pink” or on some topic suggested by the image.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Photo Writing Prompt, Poems, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pink

  1. Edwin Jeter says:

    Pink profoundly speaks with a strong and meaningful voice. It states that people should do things to remain positive, healthy, and productive. Pink reveals that people should maintain a positive attitude even when odds are against them. It expresses that being productive helps people remain healthy, and healthy is productive.

  2. Claire says:

    I’ve never liked the color pink and, in my case, I usually get a double dose of things I dislike. Case in point: Years ago, I lived in one of the Caribbean islands and ended up residing in a house whose color was . . . you guessed it . . pink—Pepto Bismol pink! It stood out like a sore thumb from the rest of the neighborhood.

    Our neighbors used to use it as a reference point—”The club? It’s just around the corner from the pink house . . .” Not only was the outside of the house painted in this hideous hue, but also the inside. Double dose—see what I mean? To this day, my roommate and I still joke about it.

  3. Pingback: I’m in Pink | my30uplife

  4. Maureen O'Brien says:

    I’ve always known this fact because since I was very little, everyone stated it. Pink is for girls and never for boys. Well now that I’m 72 years old, I have decided that pink is for anyone and everyone. When I see a man wearing pink, I think “now there is a sensitive, strong, confident guy.” Why has it taken me so long to learn this? Am I a slow learner? No, I think I have finally come in to my own. I can believe anything I want to believe and I do believe that my hubby looks fabulous in that pink shirt I just gave him.

  5. Rachel says:

    What does one think when one thinks pink?
    If the brain is pink, as one often thinks,
    One might name pink the color to think.
    Pink is the color of childhood, when thinks
    Were not as thinkish as Socrates thinks,
    but would come and go as quick as two blinks.

Leave a Reply

