Bees

bee

I was so impressed by that tree, I remember it 60 years later. It was on the corner of the next block, an old pear tree. In the spring bees were attracted to the multitude of blossoms. So many bees. I could hear them buzzing from down the street in my house. And pears, my gosh, bushels and bushels of pears grew on that tree.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “bees” or on some topic suggested by the photo.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Childhood memory, Children's Writing Prompts, memories, Photo Writing Prompt, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bees

  1. Claire says:

    To me, it’s amazing what bees can do and how well they do it. Not too long ago, I heard a news report regarding the disappearance of bees and how in recent years, apiarists are losing about 25% of their hives each winter. Subsequently, wildflower pollination has also decreased by as much as 70%. Scientists can’t pinpoint one particular cause, but they speculate that this could be secondary to several causes, e. g., pesticide usage on fruit trees, which can affect bees, extreme weather changes and temperature fluctuations. The report was definitely an eye-opener.

  2. Rose Marie Plummer says:

    Winter had passed in 2012. Spring’s coming was evident in the budding trees I saw on Cypress Street in Paris as I was running yet another errand on this oft-traveled path. But something was different this particular day. A tree I hadn’t noticed during the winter months was apparently dead and maimed. It stood there, mostly a trunk and a few small branches seeminglydefying its fate. I felt sad at its passing.

  3. Rachel says:

    A buzz behind my ear announced a miniature me. Why so? A bee was misunderstood. A bee was avoided. But in reality, a bee was beautiful. A bee wanted only the best for the ecosystem. A bee was no less innocent than a butterfly, but the butterfly only is loved.

Leave a Reply

