Morning Light

The sun comes up for BlogHer 13

Being an early riser means you see a lot of sunrises in a lifetime. This particular morning light shows the sun coming over Lake Michigan from a hotel next to the Chicago River. The right light can make even the most commercial of locations look like natural beauty.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “morning light” or on some topic suggested by the image.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Photo Writing Prompt, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Morning Light

  1. Edwin Jeter says:

    Morning Light, a gift, is intriguing. Its message is clear and meaningful. The light communicates that another day is beginning and we are closer to achieving our established goals, whatever they may be. During the morning light I find peace and give thanks to be in a position to accomplish.

  2. sevens27 says:

    The morning light splinters through the cracks of the blinds and reminds me that a new day is breaking. I try not to think about the fact that I haven’t slept all night, and daylight brings on an anxiousness, as it is always easier to lie in the dark.
    I flick the rest of my cigarette into the over flowing ashtray, and down the rest of my glass, knocking over the empty bottle of bourbon as I stumble to the bathroom. I splash cold water on my face and stare at the reflection of myself, taking in the bloodshot eyes, cherry red lips and pale skin. I look like hell. I tip toe back in the room, scooping up my leather jacket and taking care not to wake the naked sleeping body as I walk out of the no one cares motel room into the piercing morning light.

Leave a Reply

