Hi, honey

She was aware the instant the woman entered the bar. She turned to watch her approach, smiling and hurrying. The woman stopped mere inches away and said, “Hi, honey.” When the woman kissed her, she kissed her back, realizing at some deep level that she loved her passionately. She said, “I love you. Who are you?”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic, “Hi, honey.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hi, honey

  1. Maureen O'Brien says:

    “Hi Honey, your Ma’s home.” I’m pretty sure that Ma knows I’m up here in Doggie Heaven but she says that every single time she walks in the door. It’s just her way of working through her sadness. She’s been crying steady for five days now. Everyone is telling her that she should get another baby but she says “No, there will never be another Bogey.” That’s probably true. Not to brag or anything but I was one of a kind. But there are so many dogs out there who need a “forever home” and she has so much love to give. I’m going to visit her tonight and try to convince her to go to the Humane Society. Wish me luck. Love, Bogey

    • Claire says:

      I loved this, Maureen, especially since it’s written from Bogey’s POV. I can totally associate with it since it’s difficult to break away from the routine we had with our pets.

      • Maureen O'Brien says:

        Thanks Claire. I started to write Bogey’s memoir about a week after he passed and I’m about half way through. I think it will make a sweet Chapbook. It is written from his POV so it’s a bit different.

      • Claire says:

        Would love to read Bogey’s memoir, Maureen. I also wrote a small memoir on my dog, Conan, which I finished recently. This took me a few years to complete. I found it extremely difficult to finish, hence the reason it took so long. Thanks again for sharing.

  2. Claire says:

    ‘Hi, honey. I’m home.’ Quintessential words from Ricky to Lucy on the “I Love Lucy” show from the 1950′s. Those from my generation can certainly relate to that. I’m sure that most of you, much like myself, reminisce about some of the shows that were aired. In my case, no matter how many times they’re played on TV, I never get tired of watching them. I plead guilty to the same thing with “The Honeymooners.” I never get tired of watching them either.

  3. Maureen O'Brien says:

    Oh yes, I can so relate Claire….That was great.

  4. ActiveinOC says:

    “Hi, honey.”
    If only I could hear her say it one more time.
    It’s been almost a year since she’s been gone.
    After a lifetime of togetherness, now I’m alone.
    Eating alone. Sleeping alone. Washing laundry alone. Watching TV alone.
    There’s just no getting used to it.
    Miss you, honey.

Leave a Reply

