Thankful

I’m thankful for you dear, reader – dear writer. You come here and commit yourself to writing something. I appreciate that. I also appreciate those of you who come just to read. Some of you who read here write elsewhere using these prompts. For that I am also grateful. I’m thankful for the concept of writing practice which lets us just write without judgement or evaluation. I’m thankful for YOU.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “thankful.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thankful

  1. Maureen O'Brien says:

    I’m thankful for this Blog as it motivates me to write something, even if it makes no sense. The more I write the better I get. But my purpose on this Blog is not necessarily to get better at the craft but simply to write. It’s like finger painting with words. Thank you Natalie….Moe

  2. existenceexperiencesimiliesimplicity says:

    I saw first50 words around twelve months back and since then I am pondering over my ability to write.Thanks to this post that I find myself motivated enough to share with you this endeavour addressed http://existencexperiencesimiliesimplicity.wordpress.com/ .YOU are one of the blogs which motivated me.I am thankful to you. :)

  3. Claire says:

    It’s good to have a day specifically set aside to give thanks for all we have: family, good friends, pets, food on our table and a roof over our heads. In my case, I’m thankful every day as soon as I open my eyes to greet another day, especially now when the years are beginning to pile up and the aftereffect of all the crazy things I used to do when I was younger seem to finally have caught up with me. I consider myself blessed by the mere thought of being alive, being able to enjoy the beauty around me and being able to capture it in writing.

    • Maureen O'Brien says:

      Claire….that’s a lovely sentiment for today. My exact feelings which I could not have said better. Thanks, Moe

    • sevens27 says:

      I think I am thankful for you, Claire. Your positive, sometimes quirky, mostly upbeat writing, reflects a generous and giving soul. I admire your dedication and your somewhat personal mission in spreading bits of sunshine and leaving a sunny bit of you across the internet. I like that everytime I visit this site, your faithfully here and it makes me feel at home and I would miss you.

      • Claire says:

        Sevens, I’m flattered by your endearing comment, so much so, that I’ve saved it onto my writing files. You’ve certainly got me pegged! 😊 I have to tell you that I found your blog a couple of days ago and I’ve become one of your minions, LOL! Thanks again, from the bottom of my heart.

  4. Edwin Jeter says:

    He articulated an important message, and sincerely advised everyone to be thankful. His words eloquently indicated we all have reasons to be thankful. As we enter another season of thanks and giving, we should be thankful for the opportunity. An opportunity to give is a lot to be thankful for.

  5. Debby Proulx says:

    I see the children play follow the leader through the trees in the backyard. They giggle and shout to one another using a taunting tone of ‘I dare you” to be as inventive as me. The grown-ups around the table on the back deck chat about ‘grown up issues’ and although I am considered a ‘grown up’, I long to prance through the trees and be silly like the youngsters. With a quick movement I grab my cane and head towards the trees leaving the ‘grown-ups’ behind with their mouths hanging open. My heart fills with thanks that at 83 years old I can still amble about to join the people who know the true meaning of joy.

  6. Pingback: Giving Thanks | From the Desk of Kimberly Hill

Leave a Reply

