Shopping

Now that I’m old

I hate shopping.
I hate glitz.
I hate fashion.

Shopping makes me tired.
Glitz is disgusting.
Fashion is silly.

When I was younger

I loved shopping.
I loved glitz.
I loved fashion.

Is that what they mean by “the wisdom of age?”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “shopping.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, memories, Poems, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shopping

  1. Pingback: First 50 words: Shopping | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. Claire says:

    At this stage of her life, Maia hated shopping, especially grocery shopping. She also didn’t care for shopping in the mall, either. If there is a gift to be gotten at the mall, her routine is to go directly to the store where she would find the item, purchase it and go. No more window shopping like she used to do when she was younger. Those days were over. Now life was more sedentary, and that’s just exactly like she wanted it.

  3. sevens27 says:

    Ugh! Tonight I went to try and finish my Christmas shopping! I was forced to go with Duane, as if that wasn’t annoying enough, it was at Wal-Mart, and at peak shopping hours I guess as it was just a mess, complete chaos! I feel like the only female my age who truly cannot stand to shop, period, double that with Duane tagging along. Honestly I think a root canal without novocaine holds more appeal….

  4. yogurtparfaitaffidavit says:

    Even in sweats and a rag on my head, people still seem to bother me shopping. Even with headphones in. Headphones. The universal sign for “leave me alone.” I’ve gained 30lbs that won’t go away short of some voodoo spell. Unless “anonymously” on the internet: screw shopping….

Leave a Reply

