New Words

I subscribe to A Word A Day and often learn new words. Yesterday the word was chiral, a new word for me. Oddly, I remember when and where I was when I learned certain words as a child. I remember when I learned osmosis and impermeable. New words these days merely fall into a big vat and become part of the mix. I don’t recall each one with distinction. The vocabulary muscle in my brain seethes in a bubbling cauldron of words, prefixes, suffixes, and roots all mixed up with Latin, French, Spanish, and German. It’s a mess in there.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “new words.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, memories, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Words

  1. thanks, I just subscribed to a word a day. very interesting that you remember where you were when you learned certain words.

  2. pampa says:

    Cruet’ was one of the latest entrants. I came across this one in a spellathon and i was convinced that there has been an error and that the real word is cruel. My enterprising nephew looked up immediately on his i pad and told me the meaning. There is so much to learn everyday. To quote Plato”i just know that i dont know’……

  3. Edwin Jeter says:

    New Words in our vocabulary contributes to an enhanced understanding of our complex world and the things in it. Knowledge of words is a very powerful tool which enables us to convey critical messages, with understanding, when necessary. This is a very much needed asset in life. New words rock.

  4. Claire says:

    Learning new words has always fascinated me. I’ve been subscribed to Merriam-Webster’s “Word of the Day” for a while now and a new word is emailed every day. The interesting part is that this service offers the word’s etymology as well as a smaller section called “Name That Synonym” that puts into play previous words of the day. This jogs your memory and allows practice of words you previously learned. I find it to be a great stimulus for the brain.

Leave a Reply

