Georgia

Did you know that there is exactly one museum in the U.S. named in honor of a woman? Yeah. That.

It’s the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum in Santa Fe, New Mexico. A good reason to visit Santa Fe, if you happen to be searching for an excuse to visit Santa Fe. While you’re in New Mexico, you can visit her home and studio at Ghost Ranch. Convenient, right?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “Georgia.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Georgia

  1. Bastet says:

    Georgia, a name like any other. Name of a country, name of a State, name of my Aunt, and of course…my name.
    The name has its roots in Greek – geo means earth…the name is George in English and means farmer. Of course Georgia is the feminine version of the name.

  2. “I was really pissed off this morning because i realized that I am not living a life but just being around without any purpose at all and instead of giving up I thought I could start changing this life by changing myself.”
    And that is how the first artificial intelligence became conscious about itself, well, now herself. Georgia CP400.

  3. 1indsey says:

    Driving north on I-75 and find myself somewhere between Valdosta and Hahira. It’s 2002; I’ve got Master of Puppets cranked in my new Ford Focus. “ZTS” baby! Splurged for the upgraded sound system and five-disc CD changer. Nicer rims too. Why? Because I deserve it! Medium Georgia Mud Fudge Blizzard cradled in my lap numbing my thighs. Red plastic spoon feels smooth and slick on my tongue.

  4. wyrdshadow says:

    The last time Morris Maddox was in Georgia he was on his way to Nashville to collect his mother-in-law’s ashes. Morris’s wife, Pattylynne, was eight and a half months pregnant and hadn’t felt up to the trip. She said the veins in her leg hurt when she sat in one position for too long. So it was up to him to drive by himself the six hundred miles through a part of the country he remembered only in his worst nightmares. Georgia had never given him anything but trouble. And sure enough, eleven miles out of Tifton, the Bonneville began to leak thick clouds of yellow smoke from the front end. Morris coaxed it over to the shoulder and turned off the engine and sat there, breathing in the sulphur-sick fumes and wondering when the other shoe would drop.

  5. On International Women’s Day a few words from Georgia O’Keefe, the artist who disclaimed being a feminist… “I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life–and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.” You decide.

  6. The car is loaded up and she is not sure she will be able to see out of the windows once the kids climb in. One last look at the empty house behind her. It stares back at her blankly. All of her life, her belongings, her memories are on their way to Georgia

  7. Pingback: First 50 words | Be Creative

  8. Claire says:

    I recently read something very interesting about Josef Stalin, the tyrant dictator of Russia. He was born in Georgia; a country bounded to the north by Russia. His father was a drunk and used to beat him frequently. His mother did the same. Living in the midst of this violence led him to become the most truculent and draconian person who is known to have killed more people than Hitler.

Leave a Reply

