The Bike

“What kind of shape is the bike in?”

“Why?”

“I thought I’d take it out for a spin. You don’t have a flat or anything, do you?”

“YOU are going to ride my bike? Grandma, you’re old.”

“Yes, I am. I’m an old granny who wants to go for a bike ride. So, is your bike fit to ride?”

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the bike.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Bike

  1. Ok….so the bike is leaning against the house, which is white shingled, and there is a basket of flowers (wildflowers? impatiens?) hanging over the bike…..wow, I think, what a beautiful picture this will make to advertise our island. I am a photographer/writer for the local newspaper and my latest assignment in the Spring edition to our island’s newspaper is to post pictures which make the reader want to visit our island (5 miles out to sea in the Atlantic Ocean)……

  2. He bought her a green, three-speed when she was pregnant in 1968. They lived in a college town famous for biking in the 19th and 20th centuries. Never took to it. Should have read Frances Willard’s “A Wheel within a Wheel; How I Learned to Ride the Bicycle.” Spunky temperance leader used her own effort at 53 years as a metaphor for possibilities for women. She sighs–that was 1895–before her time.

  3. John Yeo says:

    Riding on a sunbeam, as the sun sets through a darkening sky, to the Milky Way. The magical bike powers through the star ways. I am peddling furiously and steering the handlebars to avoid oncoming asteroids, trailing meteors and lumps of space debris. The bike responds with a smile as we enter the new dimension a two-wheeled phenomenon~~~

  4. The red chipped paint and sparkly silver banana seat called my name. All it needed was red and white streamers hanging from the u-shaped handlebars. The bike was my ticket to freedom and exploration in my rural neighborhood.
    “Mom, can I get it? Please? Please? They only want ten dollars!”

  5. pampa says:

    “You have two kids, right?” She called from the downstairs, hair and pink T-shirt billowing in the breeze. “But there is a bike in the garage, and yesterday I saw you strolling with a baby in the pram”. I sighed and braced myself for the umpteenth time, as I dropped the bomb” that bike is mine””But it is a baby bike!” She almost screamed against the wind……….

  6. 1indsey says:

    “No you may not borrow the bike to ride over to Terrence’s house,” I said in the most authoritative voice I could muster without cracking a smile. My mother looked back at me with those sad brown eyes and jutted out her lower lip giving me her best Bull Dog face. I sat her down at the kitchen table and buttered her toast and tried to think of a way to explain that I wasn’t into the idea of sharing my boyfriend with her.

  7. Claire says:

    The bike in the shed was new and had never been used. This year, Maia decided to put it to good use. After her thirty day juicing regimen, she had reached her goal weight and biking would maintain the unwanted pounds she had shed off. The weather was beginning to improve, and she was going to take advantage of that. The only obstacle she foresaw was trying to convince her husband to join her. It would be like old times.

  8. willmadruga says:

    In a dystopian world where the human kind is no longer ruler, manpower is used to keep the machines functional twenty four hours a day, seven days a week. The so-called extraterrestrial being or Grey or just alien, turned out to live beneath our noses, disguised, studying every single one of us. After we lost the forth world war to the emerged Atlantis continent they subjugated us. There is one chance to escape our fate though and it is called ‘The Bike’. It is not a bike as we used to know but has its name because borrows its concept.

Leave a Reply

