Have a Cookie

She told me to sit down. She asked me if I wanted coffee. What a thrilling question. I hated coffee but I thought drinking some would make me look grown up. She sat a plate of store-bought cookies on the table and said, “Have a cookie.” It was all so mature, I was swelling  with pride from being treated like an adult.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “have a cookie.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Food, memories, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Have a Cookie

  1. It was the day I had been waiting for……the day my mother was hosting a bridal shower for my oldest sister….and on the kitchen table were a heaping plate of cookies and chocolates, of course, naturally, all “homemade” because in our house, no one got “store bought”. It was unheard of.

    Needless to say, the words “have a cookie” were what I hoped to hear from someone’s lips but so far…..sigh….no dice.

    Instead, I sat at the table, staring at the plate of sugar cookies topped with colorful sprinkles and just sat and stared……those magical words…when would I hear them?

  2. Bill Repko says:

    And I knew he couldn’t care anymore. Because disappointment was felt exclusively by the living and not by the dead. Even for those who believe in heaven had to wonder if disappointment could be a part of death with heaven. Emotion would be the same as a two-headed coin — happy and happy. Maybe the only difference between man and God was that God might land on tails now and again. Would a constant state of happiness feel like happiness if there was nothing to compare it with? Was death just a one-sided coin? These were the questions Brian would have had an answer for, instead I was helping pour the dirt over his empty casket. He could still be out there chasing the American dream; speeding down the road with a cigarette clenched between his teeth and laughing about how he got one over on all of us. The only time I ever saw Brian truly happy was when he was pissing in the wind and eating cookies.

  3. Susan felt awkward. She had never dealt with a grieving person before. She sat stiffly across from her sobbing friend and handed her another kleenex. Sorting through a jumbled mess of thoughts, Susan searched her brain’s database for something to say. An image of her mother emerged. “Have a cookie,” she said as she slid the plate of macaroons across the table.

  4. Claire says:

    After fifteen days, the juicing regimen was beginning to take its toll; and to think that he still had fifteen more days to go. He craved sweets, and all he wanted to do was to have a cookie or a cupcake. Right now he would kill for a cupcake, so he sauntered into the kitchen and started to prepare his “mean green” drink; at least, it was nutritious.

  5. pampa says:

    He sat across the table, trying valiantly to control the stream of sobs threatening to burst forth.Chest heaving, he took another look at his broken cricket bat and felt like disappearing into the wilderness. Papa would never buy him another one. It didn’t matter that he recieved bruises all over for trying to locate his lost bat in the wid undergrowth beyond the playing field. That he had accidentally flung it was enough. A fresh flood of tears was imminent when his sister thrust a plate under his nose. Dimly, through the chaos of his grief and through tear filled eyes, he heard his sister say ‘have a cookie’

  6. John Yeo says:

    Increasingly whenever I surf the web these days, I get a message that informs me, the site I am visiting uses cookies to enhance my on-line experience. I usually accept these cookies are part of the internet experience. They fill my computers memory, adding weight.
    Margaret is a wonderful cook, she bakes the most irresistible cakes. I usually accept one of her delicious cream cheesecake cookies, guaranteed to add weight.

  7. The smell of burnt Crisco filled the apartment. I didn’t even know Crisco could burn. I checked the directions… “Wait! So that was supposed to be?…oh no” Reluctantly I scraped some of the char from the bottoms, and took a small bite. “OMG” Gag.

    Trash. Check
    Teeth brushed. Check
    Dishes washed. Check
    Windows opened. Check
    Candles lit. Check
    Smell removed… FINALLY
    Paul home? No… still waiting.
    Two hours, no call.
    Three hours, no call.
    Trash open. Check

    At 10 p.m. he waltzes in nonchalantly and drops his bag by the door.
    I force a smile.
    “Welcome home stranger”
    “Don’t be like that, I’ve had a long day” he mutters as he heads to the kitchen, leaving a trail of booze in the air.
    “I’m just teasing, honey, why don’t you have a cookie”

  8. Edwin Jeter says:

    “Have a Cookie” is what to say after very active kids eat their vegetables at dinner time. This is a great way to reward them for eating properly. Having a cookie is something kids need to experience sometimes. This keeps them calm, very appreciative and peaceful. Cookies are great sometimes.

Leave a Reply

