Warning: Low Battery

Your phone, your iPad, your computer – they all alert you when the battery is low. Why don’t cars do that? Batteries in cars just die – whump – without a moment’s notice. They leave you stranded in some small Texas town with no gas station and a Dairy Queen where the bathrooms are out of order. That’s what batteries are like these days!

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “warning: low battery.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, fiction, Writing prompt. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Warning: Low Battery

  1. My coffee maker was “on the blink”, meaning a red light had appeared on it and a beeping sound was emanating from it…….I was stumped. The only thing I knew how to do was place my mug under the handle, place a round little plastic cup of grounds in the slot on top and then press a button to make coffee.

    Instead, I now had to deal with a low battery issue……a beeping I could not ignore.

    Leave a comment

  2. Why don’t people come with a battery-empty-alert function? Just before they are about to peg out and shuffle off their mortal coil, a “battery empty” alert should be flashing up on their chests. Just think of the lawsuits that could be avoided if we had time to make our last wishes known!

  3. Claire says:

    If people as a whole had a low battery function, we wouldn’t be human; we would be robots devoid of feelings and emotions. It would just be akin to something from science fiction, but I have to admit that looking at it from that point of view, it would make a good story. Our low battery gauge is indicated by disease and the degree to which this disease afflicts a person.

  4. Where is my personal robot? On a draggy morning, I’m needing a special boot. Kind of an amalgam of those Low Battery alerts plus a flashing red light–purple would work too–and a deep male voice, “Hurry up, please, it’s time.”

  5. John Yeo says:

    Clock-watching and preening, putting the final touches to my appearance. I have a very important appointment for the job of a lifetime. I have made my preparations and rehearsed the interview. I arrive at the destination very confident, but LATE!! How can it be? I did everything right to the last degree. I trudge back home and instantly the reason becomes clear , my large usually highly accurate clock is 20 minutes slow. The battery is low and the time is wrong, I could kick myself. Why didn’t I heed the low battery warning by checking my cell–phone? It was on charge in the bedroom.

  6. My coffee maker was “on the blink”, meaning a red light had appeared on it and a beeping sound was emanating from it…….I was stumped. The only thing I knew how to do was place my mug under the handle, place a round little plastic cup of grounds in the slot on top and then press a button to make coffee.

    Instead, I now had to deal with a low battery issue……a beeping I could not ignore.

  7. Everyone watched in mute terror as the hooded figure paced the front row of the movie theatre, an AK47 dangling over his right shoulder.

    In the back row, Jeremy Ackerton punched nine one one into his cell phone.

    “Fuck me,” he muttered, when the screen flashed its warning: Low Battery.

Leave a Reply

