Bluegrass

Dolly Parton's new album Blue Smoke

That voice,
That voice was made for bluegrass.
That angelic voice,
That voice soaring above the banjos and guitars
Was made for bluegrass.
That accent,
That southern accent
Was made for bluegrass.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “bluegrass” or on some topic suggested by the image.

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, music, Photo Writing Prompt, Poems, Writing prompt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bluegrass

  1. Bluegrass brings to mind Kentucky, the Great Smokey Mountains, the Blue Ridge Mountains in Virginia, Skyline Parkway…..

    Horses……

    and music, of course, music!

    Banjos, fiddles, music gatherings in the barn complete with dancing and eating and plenty of flirting….

    while outside the mountains hover in, protecting us and cradling us in their shadow…….

  2. John Yeo says:

    I must admit I have heard very little Blue-Grass country music here in the UK. Although I like some country music, I am an avid classical music fan. I understand there is a British Bluegrass music association with a large following here. I have seen many images of the beautiful Kentucky blue grass country region, with the impressive horses grazing on the beautiful luscious grass. Music is born from such beauty.

  3. Claire says:

    I’m a classical music lover, but have eclectic tastes in other types of music. I like some country music but unfortunately, bluegrass as an offshoot of this type of music is not my thing. I’ve never been to Kentucky nor seen the beauty of the Great Smokey or Blue Ridge Mountains, but I can be sure that I would be impressed by their sheer splendor and would probably feel my own insignificance when compared to their magnificent creation.

Leave a Reply

