Jamie

I’m a fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series. I love Claire Randall with her modern eyes looking onto a world 200 years in the past. I love Jamie Fraser, the handsome Scotsman she meets and loves in that long ago world. I’ve spent many a day reading my eyes out with one of Gabaldon’s huge novels propped on a pillow on my lap because they are too heavy to hold up. Now the novels will be a television series. Will this beloved series of novels be as good on a TV screen as they were in the panorama in my imagination?

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “Jamie.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in books, Essay, Good Reading, Writing prompt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jamie

  1. Eleanor Elliott says:

    I met Jamie in college. She eventually confided in me that she was a transgender male to female and it was just by luck that she had a name that covered all the bases. She became my best friend through my college years and I learned a lot from her. I learned that first impressions can be deceiving and that bravery can be found in many places. She was the bravest woman I had every met and lived her life to the fullest. We lost touch, but I think of her often when the wind blows or when seasons change.

  2. Claire says:

    Jamie was not looking forward to the beginning of his senior year, but being this was his final one, he figured he would make it more interesting by being a trendsetter. Over the summer while navigating the net for some clothing websites, he came across this swanky site promoting bow ties—in particular—two-toned ones.

    Most of the models were young and all sported collegiate attire with bow ties. It was an accessory he had never considered in the past, but he was hooked when he saw the wide selection. He ended up ordering a couple of them in anticipation of sporting the starred and striped one on the first day of class. If everything was boring on that first day, he was sure that his friends’ conversation regarding the new addition to his attire wouldn’t be.

Leave a Reply

