I Remember

After all the Bonnie Raitt albums I’ve played again and again, after the live concerts I’ve attended, after all her songs I’ve sung along with, the thing I remember most vividly about Bonnie Raitt was a concert moment. I’ve seen her several times, but I think this time was in Austin. Everyone in the band left the stage, she put down her guitar and sat at a keyboard. The lights dimmed to a single spotlight. She sang “Angel from Montgomery.” Just the piano and her voice. It was moving and melancholy and utterly beautiful and touched me deeply. I know much about Bonnie Raitt’s life and work and art, but that one quiet performance is my most vivid impression of her.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “I remember.”

About first50

Writer and teacher who benefits from following the principles of writing practice set forth by Natalie Goldberg.
This entry was posted in Children's Writing Prompts, Essay, music, Writing prompt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Remember

  1. Claire says:

    I remember my Rottweiler, Conan, on rainy days because on days like these, he would tend to sleep more than usual. He was always a heavy sleeper, and no matter how much snooze time he put in during the day, it would not thwart him from sleeping through the night.

    I wanted to think he enjoyed sleeping as much as I did. In this sense, I plead guilty to having ascribed this anthropomorphic quality, as well as many others, to my Rottie. I am sure the majority of pet owners worldwide share this sentiment, and, at this point, I am certain many of you reading this are nodding your heads in agreement.

    His short life on this earth helped to bless and enrich my own and ever since the death of my loyal companion, I feel his loss with greater intensity whenever I see, hear or even perceive the smell of rain.

  2. pampapam2 says:

    Do i remember?
    Oh boy!!
    Some days , that is all I do
    to wander in
    the thicket of memories
    the dense foliage
    of time
    having carefully
    preserved
    all that is slumbering
    waiting
    to be discovered
    be ware
    for the path
    therein is perilous
    marked
    with
    sharp thorns and
    slumbering dogs
    of heartbreaks
    and despair…

  3. Eleanor Elliott says:

    You totally put me in that concert, with Bonnie Raitt, the piano, and the dimmed lights and hushed crowd. what a picture you painted!

Leave a Reply

