12 Bar Blues

A few months of ukulele playing have left me hungry to more. Nothing wrong with belting out You Are My Sunshine and Home on the Range, of course, but I want to keep advancing. So I’ve been mining YouTube. There are some very good ukulele teachers on YouTube. I’ve learned Beatles songs, Beach Boys songs, and all kinds of 12 bar blues chords. The next thing you’ll see me doing is playing along to Bonnie Raitt on my stereo.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “12 bar blues.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “12 Bar Blues”

  1. When some woman done me wrong, I headed for the “Miss DeMeanor Bar.” Fortified by the healing spirits there, I moved on to the “Dew Drop Inn.” At the twelve-bar mark, I had forgotten where I parked my car, and who it was that treated me bad.

  2. The guy with the ponytail and tie-died t-shirt sat on the sidewalk, playing 12 bar blues for the change tourists threw into his open guitar case. The Clapton made me stop to listen, but the hole in the shoe that tapped out the rhythm made me throw a twenty on top of the quarters scattered across the tattered lining.

An open space for your story