She said

He sat on the curb near the school entrance. “Where’s your ride?” I asked.

“She’s late,” he said. “She said she’d be here today. I usually ride the bus, but I was supposed to go to the dentist after school today.”

“Want me to call her?”

“I already tried that. No answer.”

“Give me a minute to talk to the Principal. Then I’ll drive you home.” I smiled at him and turned to go back in the building.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “she said.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “She said”

  1. He sat on the curb near the school entrance. “Where’s your ride?” I asked.
    “She’s late,” he said. “She said she’d be here today. I usually ride the bus, but I was supposed to go to the dentist after school today.”
    “Want me to call her?”
    “I already tried that. No answer.”
    “Give me a minute to talk to the principal. Then I’ll drive you home.” I smiled at him and turned to go back in the building.
    He said, “Stop! The dentist is closer. Could you drop me off please? I’m sure my sister will be home by then.”
    I thought, “Sister! I thought he was married.” A small smile appeared on her pretty face.

  2. The sun beamed through the stained glass, the pews were awash with jewel tones. Silence bellowed its ancient nonexistent song amplifying the sound of my own heartbeat.

    “So you came?” She stated as though it were a big surprise, like it had been in my power not to come.

    “Yes, of course I came. Not coming would be like mooning the parish Priest with my lily white ass.”

    She pursed her lips. “Must you be so crass? I would think you would want this to be solved the easiest way possible. But no you have to come across like tornado in a crystal shop.”

    “I am not the one with the dirty little secret.”

    “But you are dear girl.” She said. “You have a secret far worse than mine.”

An open space for your story

