Knock

I was expecting Mary Lou, but she never knocked, she just came in. The knock surprised me. I peered through the tiny hole in the door at a young woman I didn’t recognize. She looked fairly harmless, so I opened the door. The screen was locked, I knew that. The second the door was open she started talking: fast, breathless, urgent. Then she grabbed at the screen and tried to open it. . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “knock.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

4 thoughts on “Knock”

  1. Beth never knew when the past would come knocking at her door. She kept it locked and never opened it except on Thursdays when all of her QVC purchaces arrived just in time to hide them from her husband.

  2. Knock

    I was expecting Mary Lou, but she never knocked, she just came in. The knock surprised me. I peered through the tiny hole in the door at a young woman I didn’t recognize. She looked fairly harmless, so I opened the door. She screen was locked, I knew that.

    The second the door was open she started talking: fast, breathless, urgent. Then she grabbed at the screen and tried to open it. . . .”He’s almost here! See that’s him coming up the stairs.”

    I saw nobody. Then I looked in her eyes–they were glazed over. A white van stopped by the curb. Two men in white got out.

    “Thank you!,” they said. “She got away from us. She is not dangerous–well maybe to herself.” The carefully took her away without a struggle. She seemed resigned. I felt sad.

  3. Three short knocks on the door were all the notice I was given before Kelly rushed in the room, quickly shutting it behind her. I shoved the photos beneath the newspaper clippings. She pressed her back against the door, and grinned wickedly.
    “I’m sure we’ve got him now,” she said.

  4. Then, looking at her the second time, i said…no, you can’t come in, not right now, I told her holding on to the knob with all my might.
    But mom, I will only borrow it this one last time, please?… please? … please?…(with her hands clasped together as if praying)…
    Ok. It’s on the table, I said loosening my hold and turning the screen door knob.
    Thanks mom as she hurried past me with my iPhone!!!

An open space for your story

