It’s Alright, Ma

I entered the apartment but didn’t see Dax. Then I heard him talking on the fire escape. He said, “It’s alright, Ma,” in that pleading tone he uses with his mother. I went into the bedroom and closed the door. I didn’t want to listen to another of his conversations with his mother about how unsuitable I was for him. It hit me – things would never change. Our relationship would never move beyond where it was now. I pulled out my suitcase and duffle bag and began stuffing my clothing into them.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “It’s alright, Ma.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “It’s Alright, Ma”

  1. I didn’t know where I’d be going…I just had to move on.
    Ever since the first day I’d met her, it had been a running battle…
    “She don’t know even how to cook! She always makes the pasta sticky!”
    She’d say this right in front of me…but she’d pretend I wasn’t there.

  2. I walk into the room with my head held high. Although I put on my best poker face, tears were starting to well up in my eyes. My mother took a less brave approach. “It’s alright, Ma,” I say as I pull her into a hug. “We’ll beat the cancer.”

  3. I know you see me and at times I think about you. I haven’t visited you lately neither have I been the best son. When I run, I envision your face at the finish line. It’s alright ma because one day I will be ascended up into heaven to place my head into your bosom. Until then, I’ll find something to do in remembrance of you…

  4. The party was winding down, the stories, joking, and ‘remember the time’. Finally, it was just the two of us. She always loved to hear about the kids, and I laughed about their latest. The machines beeped softly as I took her hand and gave her permission to go. “It’s alright, Ma…”

An open space for your story

