Mr. Tambourine Man

Bins of citrus fruit filled the sidewalk in front of the little Korean market. I stopped to buy a bag of oranges. Faint strains of “Mr. Tambourine Man” came from inside the store. I peered into the dim space and saw a young girl putting canned goods on a shelf. She moved in time to the music. At the chorus, she burst into song with a pure, stunning, soprano voice. I followed the sound, each syllable . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “Mr. Tambourine Man.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Mr. Tambourine Man”

  1. …taking me back about 40 years. I really loved that song, and when the chorus came up, the world seemed to be a better place. That girl couldn’t have been but 17, about the age I was when I used to sing: “that jingled jangled morning, I’ll come following you!”

  2. Each syllable was felt in my hips as I swayed side to side. Wrapping my arms around myself and remembering that Stan and I would dance to that song from the late evening to the early dawn. Quickly I shake the thought away. The bastard left me for that whore Betty.

An open space for your story

