Rinse

The cat loved to slurp up the milky rinse water when I rinsed out a milk carton before taking it to the recycling bin. She could identify the sound of water sloshing around inside a milk jug with pinpoint accuracy and would rocket to the sink in hopes of catching a few licks of her favorite treat before it all ran down the drain. Every time I rinse a milk jug, I think of her.

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “rinse.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Rinse”

  1. Rinse

    My cat, Pretty loved to slurp up the milky rinse water when I rinsed out a milk carton before taking it to the recycling bin. She could identify the sound of water sloshing around inside a milk jug with pin point accuracy and would rocket to the sink in hopes of catching a few licks of her favorite treat before it all ran down the drain. Every time I rinse a milk jug, I think of her.

    And it always reminds of the feral cats that lived down at the barn and milk sheds on the old farm. When I was miling a cow, the cats would sneak around me and the cow–I would point a teet at the cat and squirt it in the face–the cats loved it.

  2. The sour rinse of the ever dripping mist that seems to capture me within its every airing claws. Yet, I can’t see it. I can’t see it because its not there, its floating in the air, but it is only imagination, a simple degrasion, to steer me to my destined insanity. I cannot see. Wipe the slate clean. The window is dirty. The mist, the terrible, sour mist, it rinses, but it doesn’t cleanse.

  3. Rinse and the soap suds will quickly disappear. To do so creates a feeling of cleanliness and freedom. It makes me think profoundly of saying goodbye to negative experiences and focusing on the positive ones. Focusing on positive outcomes eliminates doubt, induces happiness and enhances productivity. Everyone must try it.

An open space for your story

