The Answer

I’d known the answer for months. I just didn’t want to listen to myself or think about the implications of knowing. I asked the question in various ways, among my friends, while alone in the shower, sitting in front of the TV. I kept asking the question because I didn’t like the answer. It was hard and I didn’t want to face it. I wanted easy with no courage required, I wanted a solution handed to me on a silver platter. Like all . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “the answer.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

5 thoughts on “The Answer”

  1. Like all major decisions things would change. Why rock the boat? People change and movement is relentless. But sometimes I want to yell “Stop!” I like where I am. I am comfortable. I am old enough to know we cannot predict or plan for all contingencies. Life veers right or left, up or down, and it can be a scary ride.

  2. The answer is in your possession and at the finger tips. Although it is so close but seems so distant and out of reach. Good decisions require us to find an answer to the questions we are challenged with and experience in daily life. Get the right answer before giving-up.

  3. Answer me this said the dog. To wit a stick said the rabbit. You are no bugs bunny said the dog. And you are no teddy roosevelt said the rabbit.

  4. The answer for me to stay in my country home
    and garden to my hearts content
    is to
    slow down and let the surrounding of this country cottage
    look more natural.
    I cannot keep constantly grooming
    and why do I do this.
    Just love being outside with my gloves on and clippers in hand
    with the wheelbarrow and hoe near by…

  5. The answer, awaits me, lies before me, unravels in my hand, yet I can’t look. I can’t bear to see what the truth exists as. I fear the unknown, yet I search the depths of the unknowable. I can’t look. I can’t look, for if I look I will see and if I see, my eyes will shudder blind. Oh, please, spare me from the undying, unceasing, unrelevant truth. Leave me be and let me weep. I don’t want to know that the answer is him!

An open space for your story

