Dear Old Dad

Kelly always called her father “dear old dad.” She said it in a sweet voice, but I always felt an undercurrent of anger and bitterness in her infrequent references to him. Her parents were divorced so I met her mom long before I met her dad. The day we got the phone call . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “dear old dad.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

2 thoughts on “Dear Old Dad”

  1. After my parents split, I used to catch the bus into town to see my father. He lived in a small, airless room in the back of his basement printing shop. No window, army cot, closet, chair, table, mirror over the sink for shaving. Cozy. I think he wanted to be alone, at least away from mum. I was 7 years old and not ready to give up on dear old dad.

  2. from her Dad I could see Kelly’s normal controlled facade split. Her face was pale, her breathing rapid, she looked around like she was lost. She sank down into her chair and stared as if her execution had just been announced.

An open space for your story

