Found

I got interested in the idea of making found art. That’s why I was poking around in the dirt piled beside a new construction site. I was so surprised to find a human skull I fell over backwards and rolled down the dirt to slam into the hard ground. In the process I broke my phone, so calling 911 became . . .

Please leave a comment with your first 50 words on the topic “found.”

Author: Virginia DeBolt

Writer and teacher who writes blogs about web education, writing practice, and pop culture.

3 thoughts on “Found”

  1. And yes after your initial reaction of the gory situation of how it got there, you too are asking what is found art? In this case- it is the art of discovery. Oh the many reactions I had once I steadied myself and brushed the dirt from my elbows. I just stumbled upon an unanswered question, a question that is a an emotional daily quest for someone. The artist in me-just for a second still thinks-does that mean I cannot keep the skull?

  2. Found is the desire to move in the right direction. Because it is great to be found, everyone should vigorously search for the proper path to travel. Without taking the proper path, the definition of found is lost, and goals slip away. Talent is possessed by many people that are never found.

  3. “Found” was written everywhere where the eye could see
    It’s purpose was to hopefully find and care for me
    Eventually, one sunny day, I was finally found.
    I was hoping it was my family, but it was just the pound.

An open space for your story

